To free up access to a single-user book you’re reading

For single-user titles, in most cases once you click the “Read Online” button, you’ve taken the access-seat for that copy of the book. (For sites that have Turnaway Prevention in place, you might only have preview access to the book – you’ll know you only have preview access if you try to page through more than 2 pages of the book’s content and are then stopped.)

To give up your access-seat for that copy of the book, you can do any of the following:

  • Go back to the Detail Page for the book
    • Click the blue “More…” link in the panel to the left
  • Click “Home”, “Search”, or “Bookshelf” in the ebrary navigation bar
  • Close the ebrary window (i.e., close the tab or close the browser)
  • Shut down your computer

Additionally, if you are using the only (or last) single-user copy of a book, and you are idle for 15 minutes (i.e., no page flips, copies, prints, etc.), and another user tries to access the book, access will be taken from you and given to the other user.

Navigation tips

Jump to a section or chapter using the live links in Table of Contents

  • It’s located in the panel to the left of the book’s text
  • You can close the panel by clicking at the top right of the panel

Jump to a chapter or page using the live links generated by searching for text

  • To search for text within the book use  >more info

Scroll vertically through the book using:

  • Scroll bar to the right of the text
  • Scroll wheel on your mouse (if it has one)
  • Arrow keys on your keyboard
    • Important: you need to click on a page once first!
    • Firefox does not support this, sorry

Page through the book using the triangle arrow buttons above the text

 

Copy and print limits

The copy and print limits on most ebrary books are based on the following percentage of the number of pages in the book.

  • Online Allowances (per book, per user session)
    • Copy = 15%
      • Copying multiple selections from a page counts as one copy
    • Print = 30%
      • Print to paper or print to PDF (aka chapter download)
  • Offline allowances (from ADE or Bluefire, once you’ve full-downloaded)
    • Copy = 10%
    • Print = 10%

The “Details” left panel shows the full range of copy and print limits for a book:

A few publishers have set more restrictive limits for copy and print; they include:

  • CQ Press
  • Duke
  • Elsevier
  • Houghton Mifflin Harcourt – does not allow any copies, prints, or page-range downloads (but it does allow full-document downloads)
  • Indiana University Press
  • Interamericana
  • McGraw-Hill
  • Princeton University Press
  • Taylor & Francis – limits to printing 30 pages
  • University of North Carolina Press
  • Wiley

There are a few resellers who have different limits on ebrary SITES they provide; these include:

  • Al Manhal
  • Irwin Law
  • Cengage
  • Business Expert Press (BEP)

 

ebrary VPAT regarding accessibility

ebrary’s Voluntary Product Accessibility Template (VPAT) was updated in April 2015.  The VPAT is a self-reported evaluation of accessibility against Section 508 criteria (which is U.S. based).  These are different from a third-party accessibility audit against Level AA of WCAG 2.0 (which is used internationally).

ebrary has two VPATs because the new Reader is at a higher level of accessibility than the rest of the existing platform. Use the links below to access these documents:

ebrary VPAT – Detail Page & Reader (PDF)

ebrary VPAT – Search & Bookshelf (PDF)

 

Bookmark a page, then return to it later via the “Annotations” side panel

While reading a book in the online reader, you’ll notice there is a faint bookmark icon at the top right of every page.  To bookmark a page, simply click that bookmark icon.  You’ll need to be signed in to your personal ebrary account, because bookmarks are saved and retrievable later, even in future sessions.

To return to a bookmarked page, click the  “Annotation” side panel, find the desired bookmark in the list, and click on it.

To delete a bookmark, click the  “Annotation” side panel, find the desired bookmark in the list, and click the small trashcan next to it.